my writing process (blog tour)

Fellow writer Freya Pickard kindly nominated me to participate in the “My Writing Process” blog tour, a tag-team event that’s been circulating online for several months. Freya, a fantasy writer based in the UK, is working on her next book.  You can view her nomination of me and read more about her writing process on Dragonscale Clippings.

Jennifer Lommers

Jennifer Lommers

THE QUESTIONS:

As part of the tour, writers were invited to answer questions about their writing process:

What are you currently writing?

I’m working on several projects, including a creative non-fiction essay on the topic of writing and faith (to be published this fall), as well as a series of invented dialogues with infamous art-makers of the 20th century, including Andy Warhol, Yoko Ono, Alfred Hitchcock, Marcel Duchamp, and others.  Several excerpts have already been published, and my goal is to finish the volume by the end of the year.  I am also participating in The Sketchbook Project, an art and writing endeavor, due out in 2015.

How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I would hope to think my writing is as unique as my personality.  That should be true for every writer, right?  My style and voice are still changing.  I’d like to imagine that whether I write micro-poetry, haiku, creative non-fiction, book reviews, or experimental fiction, that ultimately my work is clean and direct, with experimental elements that are stylistically pleasing.  I try to approach writing the way a conceptual artist might approach art-making.  I try to create something both challenging and unexpected, in form and in content.

Why do you write what you do?

I’m a sensitive observer who is naturally curious about the world. In my responses to the world through poetry, I try to express not only a sensual appreciation of nature, art, music, and the humanities, but also a kind of universal commonality of being.  I aim to illuminate as well as ask questions when I write my artist dialogues.  My hope is that, through writing and art-making, something new might be found, and something else might be set free.

How does your writing process work?

I write and re-write, searching for le mot juste, sometimes to a fault.  I delete (most) unnecessary words.  One part intuition, one part technical skill, one part dream-space, my writing works best when all the elements come together to create a perfect storm.

*

NEXT UP:  MY FEATURED WRITERS

Below I’m featuring two writers whose work I admire:

photo_theresa_williams-150x150

THERESA WILLIAMS is the author of a novel, THE SECRET OF HURRICANES, which was a finalist for the Paterson Fiction Prize. She has had her poetry and stories published in a number of journals, including APPLE VALLEY REVIEW, CHATTAHOOCHEE REVIEW, GARGOYLE, HUNGER MOUNTAIN, and THE SUN. She is now working on a comics series called THE WANDERERS.  More of the Wanderers can be found HERE.

*

Verless Doran

VERLESS DORAN  was born and raised in the hills of East Tennessee.  His writing has been compared to that of Larry Brown, Flannery O’Connor, Breece Pancake and James Agee. His short stories and poems have appeared in “The Smoking Poet” “The 13th Warrior Review” “Dogzplot Literary Journal” “The New York Review” Prick of the Spindle Press” “Heroin Love Songs” “Lit Up Magazine” and “Riverbabble Press.” His collection of short stories “Saints and Angels” is available now online and in select bookstores.  You can find him on Facebook on his author page HERE.

“The writer is in a wild, reckless love affair with the world. “ ~Verless Doran

This entry was published on 06.20.14 at 1:42 pm. It’s filed under art, collaboration, creative writing, fiction, haiku, journal entry, literature, poetry, prose poetry, publishing, short fiction, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “my writing process (blog tour)

  1. Reblogged this on Dragonscale Clippings and commented:
    last week I wrote about My Writing Process… this week, Carla Wilson talks about her Writing Process… fascinating!

  2. love the picture and find your descriptions of how you work/write fascinating – good to find out a bit more about you Carla! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour – My Writing Process | Dragonscale Clippings

  4. runawayserfer on said:

    Great interview. Sounds like your writing is back on track – good for you!

  5. Thanks to both of you – it was a good writing exercise!

comments:

