from my apartment window

After a break from writing because of my move, I decided to start again with a few haiku/senryu poems. I hand-wrote the series below quickly and am posting the poems here, with very few edits.

london fog

image by julie podstolski

 

Sunday

6/29/14

 

sound of chimes–

the wind on my new street

 

*

making too much coffee–

alone in this new place

 

*

 

the sound of the hose across the street

then cars going by

 

*

 

waiting for rain–

the hustle and bustle of summer

 

*

 

my new apartment–

the hollow whistle of trains

 

*

 

one spot in the house

where the breeze is coldest

 

*

 

new upstairs apartment–

the trees taking time

to unfold their secrets

 

*

 

jacaranda trees like Amazon ferns–

sitting high above them

at the corner window

 

*

 

I prefer the sun stay

behind the clouds

this morning

 

*

 

extra bananas and

food you’ll never eat

in the refrigerator

 

*

 

at the corner upstairs window

the keeper of secrets

watcher of trees

 

*

 

dogs go by, walking their owners

 

*

 

watching from above–

his baldspot

 

*

 

she sounds cheerful

but her face looks concerned

 

*

 

men on bikes ride by

bullshitting each other

 

*

 

the church bell ringing

only on Sundays

 

*

 

today I’ll make time to write

to quell this loneliness

 

*

family photos keep coming and coming–

these are of no comfort

 

*

 

saving the extra coffee

for you for later

 

*

 

after moving–

all my books out of order

 

*

 

new favorite spot by the window–

a view of trees and a nice cool breeze

 

*

 

in my new apartment—

your reminder that I should keep writing

nagging me

 

*

 

some of your laundry

still in my basket

 

*

 

finally writing something

I cry a little

 

*

This entry was published on 06.29.14 at 11:20 am. It’s filed under art, automatic writing, creative writing, haiku, journal entry, literature, poetry, prose poetry, small stones, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

comments:

